Showing posts with label Damn my shins hurt. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Damn my shins hurt. Show all posts

Sep 28, 2007

Not out of the woods yet but I see the light!!!!

Allllllllllrighty then.

This morning we went to the gym to get in a work out. Mike walked around the track while I warmed up with a nice mile on the dreadmill before working out back and biceps.

Hey guess what... NO SHIN SPLINTIES!

Doing the happy dance for that one!




I think that I may have deduced the reasoning behind the pains of late... MY INCREASED SPEED.


I started out today's run at an easy 13 minute mile pace. I then moved it up to 2 minute mile pace for the next .25 mile. I was shocked how slow that really is for me now. I decided to kick up the speed to an 11 minute mile pace. Hmmmm.... still really easy for me. I stayed there for quite awhile, then increased the speed gradually until I finished the mile cruising at an 8:41 minute mile pace. (My total time for the mile was 10:51)


I was working it towards the end but I was not dying. I also know that I could not have sustained this pace for more than .25 mile without sacrificing form. However I felt really good with the pace between 10 and 11 minute miles. I mean sustainably good. As in I could go for a few miles at that speed and still have energy to sprint at the end.


With this increase in speed came the potential answer to the shin-splint drama. When I cruised on down to the 8:41 minute mile pace that is when my leg muscles started to tighten. I knew if I pushed on like this for much longer they would be back.

A-ha! It is speed related! At least partially. So now I know... and knowing is half of the battle.


No matter the reason the shin-splints came to me, I am not calling the game quite yet. One mile is just that. One mile. I will ease back up to a 5k over the next few weeks just to make sure that the splints are not in hiding.


An added side-effect of today's little experiement is that I have the possibility of crushing my former running speeds in the 5K. I know now that I can work on really increasing my pace in 08. I want so badly to be a sub-10 minute mile 5Ker... and beyond.

Speaking of 2008 - I am happy to say that I am getting ready to post the first draft of el manifesto de Jenniferlyn.

I know you all are just rattling with excitement. I can hear it as you type. ;)

I wish everyone good weekend, especially AJ who is attacking the Boulder Half Marathon!

})i({ Runnergirl's back. Back again. Yes she's back. Tell a friend.

  • Workout Summary for Saturday:
  • 1 mile treadmill easy- 10:51 total time

Sep 25, 2007

Silly rabbit...

...running/walking is for people who are not in pain.

Yeah... scratch that 5K walk I was contemplating off the list. My calves were sore all yesterday, and then last night I got a few hamstring cramps. I have not done anything since last Thursday night in terms of running.

I hurt. Even though I have not been running. Now tell me, how awesome is that?

Tonight I am going to hit the gym after work. Ooooh la-la. I am going back to the gym! My plan is to hit a total body strength workout, along with some cardio. Defnitely not running, so I may try a class or simply hit the bike for a bit. I do not feel that my legs are ready for spinning just yet. The spin instructor is pretty militant and I just know that if I get a cramp... well let's just say that things will not be pretty.

OK folks, well off to get ready for work. Have a great Tuesday!

})i({ Limpergirl

Sep 16, 2007

Run Wild for the Detroit Zoo 5K recap

Mike and I met up with Amanda at 7:00AM in Royal Oak at the Detroit Zoo. Amanda and I were all set for the 10K, Mike the 5K. Amanda has been having shoe issues and knee issues, and I have been having those nasty speedracer outbreaks (AKA shin splints), so we all opted to do the 5K in the end. SMART move on my part.

We line up and head out towards the start line. Off goes the gun, and we start moving.

I. Am. So. Geeked!

Everything was going swell for the first 1/2 mile or so. I was comfortable at the pace we were going (without the Garmin so I really am not positive the true pace) but I was taking my time to not rush things... too much. Mike was long gone behind us, and Amanda's knee was giving her issue so I took off and decided to pull it into a higher gear because I wanted to see what I could do out there.

"Go Speedracer, go Speedracer, go Speedracer, Gooooo!" Passing people left and right (horrible spread in the crowd). "Go Speedracer, go Speedracer, go Speedracer, Gooooo!" Mojo is pumping. Speedracer is kicking some major ass. I feel roughly the same as I did Thurday for the miracle mile - pace was good! I feel as though I can pull out the mile in 10 minutes or so...

*fade to black*

I am down. Seriously down. I am talking physically down.

My inner cheer turned from speedracer themes to obsenities. How did that happen? Where is this pain coming from????? And why am I on the ground?

My shin cramped up completely - I could not lift my foot. I was in pain and toe-tap or attempt at massage was making it worse. It felt like the fibers in my muscle were being torn to shreds with every movement. *sigh* OK Speedracer... you are so grounded when we get home.

Amanda and Mike come by and stop to make sure that I am OK.


Mentally I am fine. Physically I am not so sure.

Mike takes off to finish, and Amanda and I decide to walk for a bit. It takes me a good 1/2 mile or more before the pain subsides enough to start running again. I take off slowly and make it only to just past mile 2 - where I end up right back at the pain I had just left only worse.

You know what? I started this race. I will finish this race. Walk schmalk - I could care less about time. Right now, I just need to focus on getting through the pain and enjoying the course around me.

So I did.

I walked the rest of the way. And, I finished with a smile on my face - running it in like a champ at the very end of course. What I did out there today on that little 5K course made me realize that I am stronger.

A year ago I would have sat there thinking negative thoughts about my abilities. This year I sat there thinking 'wow! If I didn't have these shin splints I'd really be kicking ass out there, still! That is awesome!'

I like the me of now a LOT better than the me of past.


I know that I need to get back to toe-taps every night and stretching out better pre-run. I have another race before the half-marathon. It is the Big House Big Heart 5K in Ann Arbor. If I am doing everything right, I should have a strong showing... without any shin splint occurances.

Tomorrow is rest (swimming and strength), so Tuesday I am going to go out for 4 miles or so to see how I feel. I should be shin splint free soon... which means one very happy RunnerGirl.

I will not give up!

})i({